Search CRC LEME :

powered by FreeFind

News Archives

Employment Opportunities

Research Updates

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Conferences

Regolith Symposia

Mineral Exploration Seminars


Dr Nigel Radford is the 2008 winner of the Butt-Smith Medal

- for outstanding and sustained contribution linking regolith science to exploration in Australia

Presented at the Australian Earth Sciences Convention Dinner, 23 July, by Dr Mike McWilliams, Chief CSIRO Exploration and Mining and Dr Steve Rogers, CEO CRC LEME.

Dr Radford citation and photo

CSIRO Media Release, 24 July 2008


Initiated in 2004 by CRC LEME and CSIRO Exploration and Mining, the Butt-Smith Medal recognises and honours the significant contribution of Dr Charles R M Butt and Dr Raymond E Smith to research and development related to the mineral industry in Australia through their lifelong association with CSIRO and CRC LEME. The work they pioneered in the early 1970s and developed with colleagues is widely credited as having contributed to several successful exploration programs in the 1980s and 1990s.

The Butt-Smith Medal is awarded every two years and attracts a $15,000 grant. The recipient gives a Commemorative Address on the cope of his/her work, and other presentations on opportunity around Australia.



The 2006 Medal was won by Dr Ravi Anand
The 2004 / inaugural Medal was won by Dr Richard Mazzucchelli

(For information only - 2008 Nomination form and selection criteria)


Cooperative Research Centres Australia

About Us | News & Events | Research
Publications | Education | Staff Only | Links

Contact Us | Disclaimer | Sitemap
© CRC LEME 2004

CRC LEME is established and supported under the Australian Government's Cooperative Research Centres Program. The CRC Program is an Australian Government initiative which brings together research groups with common interests.

CRC LEME Core Parties