Search CRC LEME :

powered by FreeFind
About Us : Miocene leaf fossils, students on a field trip, aerial landscape

Strategic Objectives


Core Participants


Centre Visitor

Minerals Advisory Council

Land Use Advisory Council


Key Researchers

Honorary LEME Fellows

Staff Directory


LEME Honorary Fellowships are awarded by the Board in recognition of outstanding contributions to the development and promotion of Regolith Science

The Awards are in the form of embossed and engraved jarrah plaques. Sixteen Awards have been presented thus far by Mr George Savell, Board Chair.

The inaugural Awards were presented November 2003:

  • Emeritus Prof Tony Eggleton
  • Dr Ross Fardon
  • Prof Graham Taylor


stepped down as CRC LEME Chairman, after 8 years in November 2003. He was instrumental in setting up LEME 1 (1994-95) and steered it through its highly successful and productive years of research which utilised regolith geology for the benefit of mineral exploration in Australia. Again in 2001 Ross played a leading role in renewing the Centre for its second research contract with the Commonwealth Government (LEME 2). He has continued throughout to give tremendous support and encouragement to the respective management teams. Ross undertook pioneering work on nickeliferous laterite for his PhD at Harvard, and then joined WMC. He was formerly in charge of mineral exploration for BHP and MIM Holdings and Director General of the South Australian Department of Mines and Energy. He has worked extensively in the mining exploration industry in the Americas and Asia, as well as throughout Australia. He is extremely busy in his role as Research Consultant of Fardon and Associates, where he is trying to economically extract kaolin from a giant regolith blanket in far north Queensland


Cooperative Research Centres Australia

About Us | News & Events | Research
Publications | Education | Staff Only | Links

Contact Us | Disclaimer | Sitemap
© CRC LEME 2004

CRC LEME is established and supported under the Australian Government's Cooperative Research Centres Program. The CRC Program is an Australian Government initiative which brings together research groups with common interests.

CRC LEME Core Parties