Search CRC LEME :

powered by FreeFind
About Us : Miocene leaf fossils, students on a field trip, aerial landscape

Strategic Objectives


Core Participants


Centre Visitor

Minerals Advisory Council

Land Use Advisory Council


Key Researchers

Honorary LEME Fellows

Staff Directory


LEME Honorary Fellowships are awarded by the Board in recognition of outstanding contributions to the development and promotion of Regolith Science

The Awards are in the form of embossed and engraved jarrah plaques. Sixteen Awards have been presented thus far by Mr George Savell, Board Chair.

The inaugural Awards were presented November 2003:

  • Emeritus Prof Tony Eggleton
  • Dr Ross Fardon
  • Prof Graham Taylor



is a Visiting Fellow/ Emeritus Professor in the Geology Department, Australian National University. He has spent more than thirty years teaching regolith science to undergraduates and graduates. Described by one of his PhD students as a ‘prince', his legacy lives on within LEME notably in the forms of Dr Mehrooz Aspandiar, Dr Steven Hill and Dr Ian Roach.

Among many other awards Tony was invited to deliver the prestigious Clay Minerals Society "George W Brindley Lecture" in July 1999.

Tony is an authority on modulated layer silicates (possibly the most complicated mineral structure) which has led to a modulated layer silicate being named after him - Eggletonite.

Among many publications Tony and Graham Taylor published the textbook Regolith Geology and Geomorphology, and Tony produced the excellent and widely used manual The Regolith Glossary: surficial geology, soils and Landscapes. Tony and Graham Taylor were Co-Directors of the Centre for Australian Regolith Studies (ANU/UC) which preceded LEME 1.

Tony was one of the team who successfully bid for the CRC for Landscape Evolution and Mineral Exploration (LEME 1) (1995-2001) and was its Synthesis Program Leader/Executive for five years.



Cooperative Research Centres Australia

About Us | News & Events | Research
Publications | Education | Staff Only | Links

Contact Us | Disclaimer | Sitemap
© CRC LEME 2004

CRC LEME is established and supported under the Australian Government's Cooperative Research Centres Program. The CRC Program is an Australian Government initiative which brings together research groups with common interests.

CRC LEME Core Parties